2009 Vuelta a Espana – Final Results

2009 Vuelta a Espana – Final Results

The 2009 Vuelta a España ended today with a 110 km flat stage around the capital of Spain, and Alejandro Valverde (Caisse d’Epargne) finished safely in the bunch to win the first Grand Tour of his career. Samuel Sánchez (Euskaltel-Euskadi) finished second in the GC and will head to the World Championship road race as one of the favorites. Cadel Evans (Silence-Lotto) took the final spot on the podium.

For the day, André Greipel (Columbia-HTC) won the finishing sprint and claimed his fourth stage victory in this year’s event. Daniele Bennati (Liquigas) took second in the day’s stage, and Borut Božič (Vacansoleil), who won a stage earlier in the race, finished third.


Final General Classification:

1 Alejandro Valverde (Caisse d’Epargne) 87:22:37

2 Samuel Sánchez (Euskaltel-Euskadi) +:55

3 Cadel Evans (Silence-Lotto) +1:32

4 Ivan Basso (Liquigas-Doimo) +2:12

5 Ezequiel Mosquera (Xacobeo-Galicia0 +4:27

6 Robert Gesink (Rabobank) +6:40

7 Joaquim Rodríguez (Caisse d’Epargne) +9:08

8 Paolo Tiralongo (Lampre-NGC) +9:11

9 Philip Deignan (Cervélo TestTeam0 +11:08

10 Juan José Cobo (Fuji-Servetto) +11:27


Comments are closed.